Forum: Writers

Subject: Military Reenactments..my simple thoughts.

TomDart opened this issue on Jun 29, 2004 ยท 18 posts

TomDart posted Mon, 05 July 2004 at 8:15 PM

I am a Viet Nam era veteran. In retrospect, I was quite blessed not to go to Viet Nam and my views on that conflict are generally more directed at the now emerging development of that country in world market places. It seems the result for Viet Nam was nothing as predicted by those government leaders during that time. And yes, I do pray to God for peace in the hearts and minds of veterans on both sides who bear the scars today in body and mind. I lost several close friends in that war and saw one return with more medals than any one man could carry, but deeply scarred physically. This holder of several grape clusters died in a house fire, after many years of looking and finally finding peace at home. Irony is not the word for that. Certainly, I do not see Viet Nam or the current conflict of the United States and its few allies in Iraq being part of any sort of reenactment. A reenactment almost requires battle on a grand scale and a fight which did produce an accepted truth in the finale. The Revolutionary War in finding freedom from British rule is one example of accepted truth. Today, the Brits are a staunch ally of the USA. The Civil War was often brother against brother and was much more than a racial conflict. The racial reasons are often quoted but seeing the easier acceptance of racial mixing in the southern states than in many of the north makes me wonder. These wars were real in this country and overall the results were good and beneficial. Still, that does not make the horror of war any less horror or death any less than dying. Large forces of politics, moods and conviction of the people by such often lead to war. The people are often caught up in a tornado they cannot escape but to finish the war. Nations defending their own land have a different view, as would the Russians during the Secon