Forum: Fractals

Subject: Apo is taking over the world

Deagol opened this issue on Apr 24, 2006 · 45 posts

JoelFaber posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 1:11 AM

Quote - I can't figure out what the 'final transform' button does either, and there is still no documentation!  I tried tried the mailing list, but I don't understand half of what they are talking about, they are like gearheads and I'm a Sunday driver, LOL.  I also would like to know how to evenly shrink the entire triangle, rather than scale it so that it remains oriented around a single angle.  I have tried using the tiling script, but it doesn't seem to do much for me.  I have only gotten one image that was tiled, and it was kind of boring.  Any help would be good.  Tutorials would be amazing!

Thanks,

~Vivian

Oh, perhaps she meant presumptuous or impertinent or impudent or insolent.....not that I think Rykk is any of those at all!

Each transform (a triangle in the editor) maps one coordinate space into another coordinate space.  This just means that every point (x1,y1) gets transformed into another point (x2,y2).  The flame fractal algorithm randomly transforms points from one coordinate space into another repeatedly (or recursively, if you will). To get a better understanding, try this:
 -  Start with a flame you like.  Something simple with fine lines would be easiest.  Make sure it doesn't have a final  tranform (final xform, for short)
 -  Add a new transformation in the editor.  This new transformation might make some changes in the colouring, but it doesn't change the shape of the flame.  This is because a linear transformation at the default size and position doesn't change the coordinate space.  Mathmatically,  (x1,y1) = (x2, y2).