Forum: Fractals

Subject: Apo is taking over the world

Deagol opened this issue on Apr 24, 2006 · 45 posts

Rykk posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 2:45 PM

Wow - well said and explained, Joel. And this just shows to go that there's more to some fractal images than meets the eye.

I'm amazed by his stuff and the others he mentioned. I'm no newbie with Apo but I can tell you straight off that NOTHING I ever made with it required as much work ethic as Joel described. And, of course, it shows! Because I've never come up with anything remotely like what they have.

You know, I go around and around and back and forth on this "Apo vs UF" thing and have thought it a "mindless distraction" sometimes. But after reading this and also a couple of conversations with Joel's brother, Michael, it's occurred to me that maybe the reason I've thought Apo to be "mindless" might just be because that's the way "I" use it. And I'm certainly on the lower end of average when it comes to making flames. I just tug the polygons around until something looks cool or run a script and fine tune that. Think??? Moi???? As if!! lol I've never dug deeply into Apo like have have UF. Most of the time I was just trying to make organic "landscaping" flames for compo's in UF. It's just too easy for me to get caught up in tugging triangles in a daze because it seems to have a neat, calming effect....though the triangles get me fixated on ordering pizza from Dominos - lol. Someone needs to turn shrinks onto this stuff for their stress management courses! lol