Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: About the poser protection

3-DArena opened this issue on Apr 25, 2001 ยท 39 posts

duanemoody posted Thu, 26 April 2001 at 10:35 AM

Before I was a web designer, I made a pretty good living as an embroidery digitizer. In case you weren't aware, we're the CAD geeks who get your company's logo and 'punch' the design into the computer, paying careful attention to how the design is to be stitched out, what kind of fabric it's going on, and what has to be lost from the original logo to make the design work. It's a small and hugely competitive field, divided between mom & pop local embroiderers and companies with multinational operations; I've worked for both. The two major players in this software arena are Wilcom and Gunold-Stickma, which were the first on the scene in the early 80s. Both of them started out with hardware dongles (a "Trysoft" card in Wilcom's case) and registration codes which expired every 18 months. This meant making a call to our distributor in Colorado, Melco, who in turn had to make a call to Wilcom, which is an Australian company and therefore closed and asleep when we're working. More recent versions of the software have no dongle but instead codes which expire every 6 months for 3 times and then you receive the final code. This was largely because their competitor, Gunold-Stickma, was moving in this direction and their users were unhappy with losing a day's worth of work each time the software went south. As I mentioned earlier, the embroidery software market is very small. What I didn't mention was that the software costs about thirty thousand dollars. Limited application, small market, and a price which reflects how small that market is and how much it takes to keep the software divisions in the black. Steve, I'd ask you exactly how close to this profile CL is. As small as CL could be, you probably sell at least ten times as many licenses per year as Wilcom does. Be square with us: does CL have actual statist