Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: What is HDRI

kawecki opened this issue on Dec 18, 2006 · 50 posts

kawecki posted Thu, 21 December 2006 at 12:00 AM

Quote - *"Films have much bigger dynamic range, "

*kawecki - Unless you're talking about Medium or Large Format Negative(About 3" x 4" and 8" x 10,") 35mm" refers to the size/type of film/negative, used by most Single Lens Reflex cameras.  I was'nt talking about digital...allthough you can bet your bottom dollar the same principal/technique applies!

It's not the size of the film, it's the quality of the film and how is sensible. A normal 35mm film is able to store a wider range of intensities than a normal digital camera. A 1000 ASA films handles much better dark areas than a 400 ASA film, but it is also more easily overexposed.
I am not a professional photographer, a professional photographer has many different cameras and many different films to be used for each situation.

*Quote - "after all in some way the HDRI images have to be done."

To get a 360 degree 2D Photographic image is impossible in one shot, but it does'nt take any special Film or Camera.  Fish Eye, and Panoramic Lenses will help, but what's needed is a program to help composite the seperate shots, and then Squish the Top and Bottom of the new image to map onto a sphere nicely.

Panoramic images are one thing and HDRI images are another. A panoramic image can be or cannot be a HDRI  image. Most of the panoramic images are normal images and most of the HRDI images are not panoramic images, but any other combination can exist.

*Quote - "I didn't used automatic cameras and adjusted them by hand and eye."