Forum: Vue

Subject: You've got to get this tool!

Monsoon opened this issue on Sep 02, 2008 · 49 posts

speters1 posted Thu, 04 September 2008 at 2:50 PM

I am fairly new to cg and Vue 6 is the only application I have used so far. But I was a traditional illustrator and have been using Photoshop for about 13 years, that's how I make my living. I have actually worked with about 10 different projects that have required cg and in the past I have just used freelancers. Now I have decided that I would like to try and start doing some of my own cg work. One of the last projects I did was to create a mountain that was in the general shape of a molar tooth, then I put some snow on the mountain that help define the actual shape of the roots. I did this in Vue 6 Infinite using a terrain that I then sculpted into the shape I needed using the brush tools in the terrain editor. It was a real pain in the a** because all you can really do it to make something rise or dip. So I was wanting better sculpting tools. The other issue I had was with the texture. I had to place this created mountain into a actual photo of some other mountains. In this photo there where some mountains in the foreground and then some mountains in the background. So I had to try and create a texture that was close to what was already in the scene, it was similar to the look of Half Dome in Yosemite.  I had tried using some high res photo's of some real texture that was close to what I needed, but the size of the texture map was only about .25 of the actual size of my mountain. I played around with all of the different mapping modes and while I was able to get something that was interesting, I was not able to get exactly what I wanted. I wanted to be able to first create a texture in PS that would be the same size as my mountain so that I would be able to know where, say a certain crack would be mapped.