Forum: Bryce

Subject: I will always love Bryce but... My first Vue image!

Vile opened this issue on Oct 23, 2009 · 46 posts

rashadcarter posted Sun, 25 October 2009 at 9:50 PM

Well, Bryce can indeed produce such an image, I feel confident I could do it, but then I have been using Bryce for 10 years and realism has been my goal the whole time. I am prepared for such challenges, I do not think the average Bryce user is, however. This is the issue, Vue allows new users to do this with relative ease, and that means new users can focus more on the other aspects of the render.  That is a good thing.

I feel I have reached a fair degree of familiarty and success with Bryce clouds. I feel certain the problem with most Bryce renders involving volumetrics is poor lighting, as the volumetric models themselves are very good and better than Vue's or Carrara's. What makes Vue clouds look so great is the Full GI, spectral skylighting tool they offer. Clouds need light from all directions, and most Bryce renders only provide light from a few sides, just not enough to look real.

Using Bryce and its cheap tricks for too long can lead one to form very bad lighting habits that must be broken when moving on to software like Vue.