Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: Dynamic clohes running thread...

LaurieA opened this issue on May 02, 2010 · 181 posts

LaurieA posted Sun, 02 May 2010 at 9:50 PM

Something else that may be interesting (or not...lol)...

When I model a piece of clothing, I start with a cube or a cylinder. From there, I tend to push vertices around at first and when I have them in a basic setup, I start to add rows of edges, slide them to where I want them and then move those verts around, etc. Because I'm an old graphic artist (literally) I understand splines and nurbs more than pushing points in 3D space because of years and years of using programs like Adobe Illustrator ;o). However, I've found that plain old box modeling is not only quicker, but easier in the end.

Because I use Wings, I've set up ready-to-use files with just a figure in them, ready to be modeled over ;o). Makes things quicker since I've already got a file ready to go all nice and merged into one solid group with all the material zones I don't need to worry about deleted. I just do a Save As when I start a new piece of clothing with one of these files. I keep the figure locked so I don't erroneously select any vertices on it while I'm working on the clothing. I also save incrementally cause, well, I just never know when I'm going to do something seriously stupid and have to go back to an earlier iteration ;o). Happens often enough that I learned to do this pretty quick...lol. Programming from being a graphic artist maybe, but a good practice nonetheless...hehe.