Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: Pose2Lux questions and answers...

LaurieA opened this issue on Mar 01, 2011 · 182 posts

RobynsVeil posted Mon, 07 March 2011 at 6:10 PM

Quote - The source code is not yet available, but I think ultimately it would be good for the project if it was.There are two reasons why it is not yet available. 1) My programming is embarrassingly bad. I'm a photographer, not a programmer, and it shows :-) When I compare my code to the stuff others are doing around here, people who know what they're doing, it's all very humbling. At the moment, I'd rather walk naked down the High Street than show anybody my coding efforts!

1. I don't want this project to branch at an early stage. This happened with the LuxPose project and regardless of the merits of the different versions that were available, the split was detrimental to the success of the project. Keeping the source code to myself means I can keep this project on track until Pose2Lux is sufficiently well established that it can survive any possible branches.

So, if Pose2Lux becomes well enough established and I can overcome my embarrassment then yes, the source code will be made available.

Until then, I think it's best left the way it is.

I can sympathise with that. I wrote a VBA-based (Excel) material-management thingie for the department that I work at (post-op recovery) and whilst the thing is clean (in terms of it doesn't crash and does what it is supposed to) and seems to work pretty consistently, I'd hate for anyone to see the code. I'm a nurse, and learned VB just sort-of on the side, so my code is pretty ordinary.