Forum: Bryce

Subject: How to Import Images for Use as Decals

Agent0013 opened this issue on Aug 03, 2012 · 45 posts

FranOnTheEdge posted Thu, 16 August 2012 at 3:04 PM

Quote - Fran, in response to your statement " Not sure what you mean by: "if I reassemble the UV mapped parts and then convert to a mesh," I will explain. When one creates a model from several booleaned shapes and then groups them it is a type of assembly. In the case of Bryce When a negative boolean intersects a positive one and is grouped with it the negative one cuts out the area of the positive that it occupies. That is one type of assembly that is possible. You can also group neutral shapes and even do intersections of shapes with the grouping feature. 

Now once a series of shapes are grouped, a small icon box with a C in it appears.

Yes, I know how Bryce does boolean, I've been using Bryce for many years now.  I think it was just the way you used the phrase 'convert to a mesh' so close to 'UVMapped parts'  it made it sound that you might not have realised that even a booleaned object is still a mesh.  Just a problem in understanding what the other person typing, meant.

Lol - maybe it's not just 'people separated by a common tongue' but the lack of body language generated by a keyboard... or not!

Quote - So what I am actually saying is that after I create the model and save the separate parts to my objects library, I would export them to a UV Mapping capable program, do the UV Mapping, save the parts as .obj, import them back into Bryce, reassemble the model with the UV Mapped surfaces applied, and finally click the C icon to convert the model to a mesh. If you prefer the word collapse instead, then that's what I mean.