Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: Curious - Intel Xeon

Afrodite-Ohki opened this issue on Jan 16, 2020 ยท 56 posts

hornet3d posted Fri, 17 January 2020 at 11:18 AM

Afrodite-Ohki posted at 5:08PM Fri, 17 January 2020 - #4376933

Penguinisto posted at 12:47PM Fri, 17 January 2020 - #4376924

BTW - did you get a built-in RAID controller onto the motherboard?

I honestly have no idea 😂 my hardware knowledge is only marginally better than a complete newbie's. My husband and I tend to pick our parts and assemble them instead of buying a ready to use system, but it's usually a matter of researching at the time of purchase, so I don't really keep up with everything that's available.

Although I had my computer built you selected a base system and then there were a lot of choices over the configuration, such as case, motherboard, CPU, Graphics Card, memory, hard drives and so on. I had a number of choices like two or three case styles, may be three different motherboards and a choice from around thirty graphics card. The limited options were great in that I had a short list of components to research and, of course, all of the parts would work together, no chance of choosing a computer case and then finding the graphics card you had purchased would no fit inside the case. I got a good price on the CPU and graphics card as both had just been replaced by new models, so to a degree my computer was already out of date the day they built it. I spent a few years in the industry and it is so difficult to keep up with all the changes, now retired I find it impossible. I have a machine that works for me and no real money for any thing new so I just don't look.