Forum: New Poser Users Help

Subject: An Absolute Beginner, Trying To Understand Runtimes

TheBlueSkyRanger opened this issue on Sep 10, 2020 · 17 posts

perpetualrevision posted Mon, 14 September 2020 at 3:49 AM

BabaBozo posted at 1:48AM Mon, 14 September 2020 - #4399369

In any software, when particular questions come up again and again over a period of years that's not a user problem, that's an interface design problem. As a programmer myself, I will guess that it should be possible for Poser to have a highly simplified point and click product install process requiring no knowledge which dumps all incoming content in to a New Content folder, and then the user can drag the files around within the Library in order to achieve whatever organizational structure works for them.

One of the main reasons I no longer use DAZ Studio is that I can't organize all my stuff the way I want to, as I'm locked into the app's idea of where things should be stored. Yes, they can be rearranged within the app, but I want control over where they are on my hard drive, as I find it so much easier to use the system's file manager (Finder for Mac, Explorer for Windows) to manage content than to let a 3D app try and do it.

I use Finder tags, saved searches, sidebar shortcuts, custom folder icons, and other features to organize not only my Poser Libraries contents but all the 3D-related stuff on my computer's internal drive. So I very much appreciate that I can put just about any library file type into any of the Libraries folders and they'll still show up in Poser's Libraries browser. I also appreciate being able to open those files with a text editor to make corrections or changes, which I do frequently (esp. to fix file paths).