Forum: 3D Modeling

Subject: Another newbie needs help!

korn313 opened this issue on Mar 28, 2004 ยท 9 posts

korn313 posted Sun, 28 March 2004 at 4:14 PM

Whats up people? Ive read a few posts here from newbies like myself who have no clue as to where to start, but the answers Im looking for werent there. Ive been fascinate by 3D modeling and digital art for some time and being a CAD designer I thought that it would be something I could just jump in to, but I realized rather quickly that I was very wrong! Ive been toying with Poser 5 and Bryce for a while, but I cant really do anything other than use the pre made features those packages offer. My plan is to begin with basic 3D modeling. From there Id like to move on to texture mapping and then eventually animation. Most of the software Ive seen seems too advanced for a novice or to reliant on pre-deigned features that could cause some gaps in my knowledge. My questions are: 1. Whats a good software package to start with? (Something that can help me to learn the principles of modeling) 2. Where might I find some good beginners tutorials for modeling? Many of the websites Ive looked at seem more geared toward advanced modelers. Any other advice, tips, or pointers would be vastly appreciated! Thanks guys!

nomuse posted Sun, 28 March 2004 at 4:30 PM