Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: 10 Years

gellenburg opened this issue on Jan 26, 2006 ยท 22 posts

gellenburg posted Thu, 26 January 2006 at 4:12 AM

Attached Link: http://www.PoserHome.com/

Dear Poser Community,

Aside from a short break from 1998-1999, I have been using Poser continuously since 1996. Over the years, the artistic talents and creative works of the collective Poser Community have provided me countless hours (and at this stage probably countless months!) of inspiration, enjoyment, assistance, and fun.

It's been almost ten years to the day since I started working with Poser, and while commuting into work a few weeks ago, I came up with the idea of providing something back to the Community.

How could I repay those who either directly, or indirectly, helped me out so much?

Then it hit me.

Through careful planning, resources, and opportunities, I am blessed both with the means and capabilities of offering free bandwidth and disk space to the Poser Community.

I've got dedicated servers that I run, sitting on the Internet, on unmetered 10Mbit connections to the Internet. It's not at my home, but sits in a data center located in Virginia. The servers costs me $300/ month; but the money is not the issue, as I use them to host several websites both for personal use, and for free for various projects that I'm personally involved in.

I've been running these servers since 2001.

Anyone who has ever run a commercial website knows that disk space is cheap, and bandwidth is even cheaper.

So, I've got several servers, that aren't really being utilized right now, and aren't planned for being used much more in the future. They exist for backup and redundancy purposes.

Then PoserHome.com was born.

A Joomla (formerly Mambo) powered website, I created the site to specifically give something back to the Community, and provide a way for free content providers, and artists, to have a way to host and share their work.