Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: Export problem.

trades2cash opened this issue on Apr 20, 2008 · 10 posts

trades2cash posted Sun, 20 April 2008 at 1:46 PM

I have been trying to export a figure so i can change some of the mesh in blender but i keep having problems. I have the tanya figure in poser and i select her chest and export it as a wave front object. The mesh comes up fine in blender but the nipples can not be edited and they will not join with the rest of the mesh. In other words when i move the chest around the nipples stay in place. I am not sure what to select as far as when i export it out of poser and i get the dialoge box that has check box for weld body part seams and other stuff. I am new to this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks  

ockham posted Sun, 20 April 2008 at 2:00 PM

The most important checkbox is "Include existing groups". The screenshot shows how I usually set an export, with "include" checked and all other boxes unchecked.

Even then you can get problems, because modelling apps
generally treat the concept of "group" differently from Poser.
For instance, the nipples may be a different material zone,
and Blender may interpret that as a different piece altogether.

My python page
My ShareCG freebies

pjz99 posted Sun, 20 April 2008 at 2:36 PM

As Ockham says it is highly dependent on both how you export from Poser, using the option he shows being the key point, and how good the OBJ importer is in your modeler - not familiar with Blender so I've no idea there, but I can tell you for sure that it varies greatly from modeler to modeler.  Cinema 4D's builtin OBJ importer for example can't handle material zones and/or polygon groups.  Some other extremely important tidbits:

My Freebies

trades2cash posted Sun, 20 April 2008 at 3:22 PM