Forum: Poser - OFFICIAL

Subject: Glazed Donut

Winterclaw opened this issue on May 03, 2010 · 48 posts

Winterclaw posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 6:03 PM

You know how everyone who gets a modeler starts with a vase?  Well as an amateur modeler myself, I thought I'd do something a little tastier...

Aside from lacking gamma correction, what do you all think?

WARK!

Thus Spoketh Winterclaw: a blog about a Winterclaw who speaks from time to time.

(using Poser Pro 2014 SR3, on 64 bit Win 7, poser units are inches.)

NoelCan posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 6:34 PM

YUMMMMM..............!!!

bagginsbill posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 6:48 PM

I think it's made of metal.

But the model looks great!

Renderosity forum reply notifications are wonky. If I read a follow-up in a thread, but I don't myself reply, then notifications no longer happen AT ALL on that thread. So if I seem to be ignoring a question, that's why. (Updated September 23, 2019)

NoelCan posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 6:50 PM

Quote - I think it's made of metal.

But the model looks great!

Ouch....!!!!!!    Broken teeth.

DarkEdge posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 7:25 PM

Yup that's a torus, and yup it looks like a very hard donut. 😄

Comitted to excellence through art.

hborre posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 7:52 PM

But where's the glaze?

Winterclaw posted Mon, 03 May 2010 at 8:23 PM

lol @ bill and noel.

I was trying to add glaze by specular lighting but I kinda failed at it.

Here's my mat set up.  Just a simple specular lighting.  I wasn't sure which kind to use so I choose glossy.  For the diffuse I picked a basic brown and set it to less than 1 as I read most things shouldn't be 1.  And I added a little bump/displacement map to keep it from being a perfect torus.

So aside from the shape, what's the first thing I should change?

BTW, don't ask about the powdered donut, it turned out bad by even my low "metal-donut" standards.

EDIT: If my donuts are made of metal, does that mean my swords are made out of donut?

WARK!