Forum: DAZ|Studio

Subject: Computer Hardware

marineguy opened this issue on Aug 01, 2010 · 8 posts

marineguy posted Sun, 01 August 2010 at 8:02 AM

Hey all,

been using DAZ for about 3 years and just got back into it again, "Marineguy" has my gallery. I'm going to be buying a new computer in a couple of months. I'm a Network Engineer and working with computers for the last 25 years and I've used Photoshop for the last 10 however, the world of 3D, rendering, DAZ, poser, etc, etc is all new. I haven't a clue on what kind of hardware, graphic cards, memory, etc to buy. I'll build you a a 1000 node network that can link you to 100 offices all over the world, but I'm dumber than a rock on what I need.

Any clues on hardware for 3D?

thanks

tokejr posted Sun, 01 August 2010 at 8:16 AM

Look at the configuration of good gaming computers you'll need something similar.  I built my own for 3D stuff:

Asus Mobo
Processor :   AMD Phenom(tm) 9950 Quad-Core Processor, 2608 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
8GB RAM

Video card:
Adapter Description    NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT
Adapter RAM    1.00 GB (1,073,741,824 bytes)

Lots and lots of disk space, but stay away from the 1 TB 7200.11 hard drives, there's a "silent" recall on them and they fail without warning.

If I had it to do over, I would have put in several smaller RAID drives instead of one large eSata drive.

Price in an external drive for backups.  Stay away from the Intel video cards; D|S has a lot of problems with them causing it to crash unexpectedly.

on edit:
Make sure you get a case with good ventilation and plenty of fans - these configurations run hot even without overclocking.

marineguy posted Sun, 01 August 2010 at 9:36 AM

Hey thanks alot!!!! Use to do Graphic Design and had big images with lots of graphic and graphic cards did little to improve it. Is it a whole different world with 3D? Will DAZ and other 3D software take advantage of the card and card memory?