Forum: Writers

Subject: Using digital art for book covers

Martine opened this issue on Jun 16, 2012 · 25 posts

Martine posted Sat, 16 June 2012 at 10:10 AM

Hi, I'm here as Martine. I'm an artist, also a writer and a publisher. I've made hundreds of book covers, but over the last five years, more and more authors want photo manipulation rather than Poser figures on their covers. It saddens me in a way because as one of my authors states, "My covers are at least unique." She only wants Poser/Daz figures on her covers. Stock photos are used over and over by many different publishers. With Daz 3d and Poser figures having become a lot more realistic, why is it that authors insist on run of the mill photos on their covers? What can we do to change their opinion? I'm sure there are a lot of Poser and Daz users out there who would love to design pictures for book covers and get paid for it, plus enjoy the exposure. Is it because Poser/Daz men aren't as realistic as the women? Is it because poses are more than often 'wooden'? Clothes often look 'plastic'? Stiff? I would love to see authors wanting original art on their covers again. As a publisher, no, not because the cost would be cheaper. I have no idea what a Poser/Daz artist would charge nowadays. Since the author in question only wants a woman on her covers, I make those quite fast and can do ten in a day. I charge twenty-five for those. More complicated, I'd charge more, but I'm not very good with men. I'm sure there are artists out there more accomplished than me who are. How can we change the writing community's mind about Poser/Daz figures? I'd love to hear feedback on this topic.

wheatpenny posted Sat, 16 June 2012 at 10:33 AM Site Admin

A lot of Poser/Daz Studio art has the problems that you mentiones with the poses, the "plastic" look, etc, but I've also seen some incredibly realistic and stunning renders done with those programs.