Forum: DAZ|Studio

Subject: HELP!!!!!

masterharper1964 opened this issue on Apr 18, 2014 · 12 posts

masterharper1964 posted Fri, 18 April 2014 at 1:33 AM

Being a complete novice at this, and at the risk of appearing stupid because I've missed something glaringly obvious, I am sure somebody can tell me where I'm going wrong.

I have Daz Studio4.6 with Genesis, Genesis2 and Victoria4.2 to play with. Not wanting to shell out too much money I haven't got on something I don't if I'm going to take to, I downloaded a few bits  from here and unzipped the packages into the appropriate file.

However, whatever I try to use from these files, I get the same error message that DAZ can't find the appropriate .dsf file

Is it me? Is it the DAZ software? or am I missing something stupidly simple?

Razor42 posted Fri, 18 April 2014 at 3:20 AM

Hey Masterharper,

This is a bit of a common problem when first using Daz Studio. And it generally relates to where your runtime is located. It generally means DS hasn't been configured to locate your content.

Try this in DS go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager, (or on Mac Daz Studio/Preferences/Content Library/ Content Directory Manager - expand the “DAZ Studio Formats” and “Poser Formats”, and make sure Daz is directed to look in the correct location where your content is installed. Also make sure you have the Genesis Starter Essentials installed as well.

Let me know how you go.

masterharper1964 posted Fri, 18 April 2014 at 4:16 AM

Thanks for the assist, Razor. Checked all locations and all are correct. Got GSE with Daz software, so I know that's installed. Tried again but still without success. Any other suggestions?

Razor42 posted Fri, 18 April 2014 at 4:32 AM

What is the path for the content you have installed sometimes daz balks at nested folders?

For instance my library inside another my library.

Is it all content not loading or is it specific items?