Forum: Photography

Subject: Camera Help

Rustbucket opened this issue on May 21, 2002 ยท 9 posts

Rustbucket posted Tue, 21 May 2002 at 12:55 AM

Ok kids, I'm a graphic designer and have very little knowledge about cameras and photography in general, but would like to dabble more in it for my designs. I realize its not something to just 'jump' into, but I'm starting to really get an eye for good images that I NEED to capture! Anyway, my question is this: I have a Canon AE-1 Program that I got as payment once from a rental tenant of mine who couldn't make his payment. He said it was worth about $250, and being the nice guy I am, I took it for partial rent. Now is this a good camera for taking good shots generally? Do many people here have experience with this camera? I'd love to get a quality digital camera, but they're so friggin expensive to get something that even compares in clarity to a 35mm it seems! Should I keep and expand with the Canon AE-1? Or should I opt for the digital camera and just not buy groceries for the next few months? :) Thanks.

bsteph2069 posted Tue, 21 May 2002 at 1:38 AM

My father has one. He's seem to be happy with it. I have no idea of your cameras condition. So I don't know what type type of lenses you have or don't. But I've seen many people do quite good work with it. There is nothing wrong with a quality 35mm camera. If you can afford a good digital camera after a few months of skipping groceries how much do you eat! :-) Seriouisly, weather you NEED a digital is your decision but I would have you consider this. With what you have and a reasonable scanner you can do the same thing that you basicalkly can with a digita camera. Perhaps more depending on the type of diogital you buy. The controoling factor with me and 35mm is the film and development cost. Just a suggestion. Bsteph

Rork1973 posted Tue, 21 May 2002 at 5:09 AM