Forum: Bryce

Subject: poly count

wozzyke opened this issue on Jul 27, 2002 ยท 5 posts

wozzyke posted Sat, 27 July 2002 at 3:52 AM

Ok, I'm new to LW and learning it, but most of all i still use bryce,so I use it to model simple thing that are impossible with bryce. Here it comes: I modelled some glasses(champaign,long drink, beer,...) but when I import them in bryce as a OBJ file they have an enormous polycount wich makes my file is growing to huge sizes. I made the objects with the sketch tool and the lath tool. Is it possible to lower dowl the poly count, or is there a difference between using the obj file in bryce and using the lwo file?????? if annyone of you has a sollution, please tell me because i'm desperate.... thanks annyway wozz

Flak posted Sat, 27 July 2002 at 6:13 AM

hunt through LW modeller for the "reduce poly" and "reduce point" things.

Dreams are just nightmares on prozac...
Digital WasteLanD

tuttle posted Sat, 27 July 2002 at 3:02 PM

Yeah, I've never used LW (for more than 5 mins) so I'm not sure about the function, but there'll be a setting on lathe to ask you how many steps you need. Obviously, more steps, more polys. Also, never used "sketch" but I assume it just lets you draw a spline. Even eliminating a single point can rid you of hundreds or thousands of polys (because the lathe function will duplicate the spline around the Y axis). There's nothing you can do in Bryce about polys, though. Then again, thinking about it - I've just done a 3450x5250 render that required several very detailed lathe objects imported into Bryce, hugely subdivided with about 200 lathed steps, but the OBJ files were only about 1.7Mb each and only took about 5 seconds each to import. If your files are more than this for a simple lathe then there's something else amiss... <:#

electroglyph posted Sat, 27 July 2002 at 4:06 PM