Fri, Sep 20, 9:55 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 6:55 am)

Subject: Software purchase advice...?

jabbiati ( ) posted Sat, 20 September 2003 at 9:08 AM · edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 9:49 AM

Hello all! I am a newbie to the 3D modeling world and a (quite) amatuer artist of sorts. I have a very specific goal I'd like to accomplish, and would REALLY appreciate some advise as to what software/model types(Vicky, Mike, stock, etc.) to use to accomplish my goal. The goal - I would like to create a comic book and perhaps series using a composite of artistic techniques. 3D modeling for figure posing, position, perspective, etc. 2D graphics work for background and scenery, digital photography for the same purpose, and my good 'ole drafting board for hand drawn and inked art. I want to combine all these tools to help me create a comic that LOOKS LIKE A TRADITIONAL COMIC. Therefore, I'd want realistic poses and figures, but not necessarily photo realistic textures, hair, etc. I'd like to be able to create a picture or panel in the same time or less than it would take me to do it traditionally -- allowing me to more time to concentrate on the story. I have been looking around the web at possible tools to use to help me with this. Poser seems to be the choice for figures, but after reading the 5.0 manual and many forums out there, I am not sure what figures (if any) I should buy. Should I buy Vicky and Mike 3.0 for max realization, and texture them with solid fills? Would the stock figures work as well for this purpose? How about the line art layer? It looks like Poser can output sketch style renders of the figures. Is it possible to output a full render and a sketch render, then delete all the white from the sketch layer and place it on top of the full render? Any advice would be appreciated.... I'd hate to spend cash on the wrong software