Wed, Sep 25, 11:22 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 25 9:47 am)

Subject: P5 on Mac OSX crashes after rendering a movie

nickgunboat ( ) posted Tue, 30 December 2003 at 9:47 PM ยท edited Wed, 25 September 2024 at 9:32 AM

I've been cranking out short animation clips for several years (seems like 10 but closer to 3) using Poser 4 for OS9. No problems. Now I'm running Poser 5 for OSX on a G5. After I render a Quicktime Animation file, save and quit Poser, I get an alert message saying that "Poser Unexpectedly Quit" (crashed basically). Now the wierd part. The Poser icon for the file I was working with changes to a generic document icon. Double clicking launches Poser but nothing loads. If anyone else out there is having the same issue, please let me know what you've done to fix this or recover the altered file. Thanks

mateo_sancarlos ( ) posted Wed, 31 December 2003 at 12:16 AM

I'll add it to the bug list. Haven't seen this one before. It sounds almost like what Windows users report, when they have memory issues trying to do animations. It could be a case of excessive page-outs after a long session (several days or weeks on-time) when you ran other apps, then finally ran Poser. This is a characteristic of Unix (a memory management technique dating back 30 years, that ignores the existence of machines with 2, 4 or 8 GB of RAM) that is apparently only fixable by restarting. My first-aid in those cases is to restart from Diskwarrior, rebuild, then restart from HD and repair permissions, which might have been damaged, hence the generic file. Also, unplug all non-Apple hardware (i.e. USB or firewire devices) to see if they are causing problems.

jerr3d ( ) posted Wed, 31 December 2003 at 1:37 AM