Tue, Oct 22, 6:37 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Photography

Welcome to the Photography Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, Deenamic Forum Coordinators: Anim8dtoon

Photography F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 18 12:22 pm)

Subject: How much money?

Dizzie ( ) posted Thu, 12 February 2004 at 5:53 PM · edited Tue, 22 October 2024 at 6:32 AM

First note: I'm a photography novice.... I bought a digital camera yesterday and in trying to take a close up it looks awful...so out of focus it ain't even funny. So I read an article on how to buy a digital camera. I found out that the camera doesn't have a "macro" setting so it doesn't do close ups. What I want to know is how much money do I need to spend to get a camera that will take decent close up images of say, for instance, if I want to take pictures of the garden flowers. I know if I spend $1000 it will do the job but I'm not spending that much while I'm still learning how to take photos. So where is the dollar line on how expsensive a camera I need to get to use for practice. Thanks for your help!

MGD ( ) posted Thu, 12 February 2004 at 7:02 PM

I have a Nikon Coolpix 4300 ... you could get one for $300 to $350 (plus tax, shipping ...). For that camera, you should also get a spare rechargable battery $40 in addition to a spare non-rechargable $12; 1 or 2 compact flash cards -- Lexar 256MBy 12x $54 or Lexar 256MBy 40x $70; LowePro 10AW bag; I am able to carry a tabletop tripod $20 in along with everything else. The 4300 will do closeups, near, far etc. It has 3X optical zoom. It is a 4 mega pixel camera and can even generate a 10MBy TIFF file (if you want). The downside is that manual focus is clumsy, it has limited depth of field -- and not easy to control; also not as easy to set exposure as on an SLR. See what others suggest before making your decision.

logiloglu ( ) posted Thu, 12 February 2004 at 7:06 PM