Sun, Sep 22, 12:26 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: freebie-in-the-making-needing-input, and a special thanks to draculaz

Fatale ( ) posted Tue, 03 August 2004 at 3:53 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 12:26 PM

file_120256.jpg

hello, I'm a total newbie to bryce (*waves hi to everyone*), and if not for the freebie showcase scene by draculaz, I think this would've turned out even worse lol I'm made this gargoyle a couple days back to learn bryce by using it to render the usual type of models I normally work with. I plan to make it a freebie soon, in obp format as what I normally do - give away learning models as freebies :) Anyways I need help with the texture setting.. anybody got a formula on how to make a "stone" look? I've tried and tried and spent all day rendering away, bumps and all, and still cant achieve that *look* (gah!) Attached image is two settings I've been fooling around with, just to show how the model looks with vastly different settings.

pogmahone ( ) posted Tue, 03 August 2004 at 4:11 PM

That's one super gargoyle!!!!!

SAMS3D ( ) posted Tue, 03 August 2004 at 5:48 PM

It looks excellent, great work...Sharen

gillbrooks ( ) posted Tue, 03 August 2004 at 5:55 PM

That's a super model! Have you tried using image textures or are you trying to use the DTE ?

Gill

Fatale ( ) posted Tue, 03 August 2004 at 5:59 PM

thanks everyone! gillbrooks: I'm playing around with procedurals, and currently all i can get is a "furry" look that might pass for very corroded stone lol (as shown in pic 2) I'm mostly going for a chunky-stone look that is somewhere between pic 1 and pic 2, but cant seem to get it right. Any pointers are most appreciated! :)

GROINGRINDER ( ) posted Tue, 03 August 2004 at 6:16 PM