Tue, Oct 22, 6:37 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 22 3:39 am)

Subject: What could be causing this...? (dynamic simulation issue)

maxxxmodelz ( ) posted Fri, 15 October 2004 at 2:28 PM · edited Tue, 22 October 2024 at 6:30 AM

Well, I've run many dynamic sims for clothing before, so I'm not a novice to the procedure, however, this one has me frustrated. I have a dress on a character (dynamic), starting in the 0 pose position, and no collisions that I can tell. The full animation is 654 frames long, which is the length of the simulation I have set. The dress drapes fine, and the beginning of the simulation seems to work perfectly... until it hits frame 40 or so. Then the simulation just ends. It doesn't freeze up, it just stops calculating as if it had finished. I checked the simulation length, and as I mentioned, it's set to match the animation length. I've checked for collisions, and again, that seems fine. So what am I missing here? Sometimes it stops near frame 40, sometimes it continues as high as 144 or so, but that's about as far as I've been able to get. Is this a RAM issue? Never had problems running simulations before, but this one is a bit longer than any I've done so far. Computer specs: 2.4 gig P4 1 gig ram 200 gig HD (100 gig free space)

Tools :  3dsmax 2015, Daz Studio 4.6, PoserPro 2012, Blender v2.74

System: Pentium QuadCore i7, under Win 8, GeForce GTX 780 / 2GB GPU.

Fugazi1968 ( ) posted Fri, 15 October 2004 at 4:11 PM

I get this occasionally, I'm afraid I don't have a definitive answer. Though it seems to be after I have run a number of test sims and have changed the default parameters a long way from the original. I usually save the file, close poser, reload the file then set the sim setting back to default (including otions like cloth self collision). Not brilliantly helpful I'm afriad. Take care John.