Sat, Sep 21, 12:36 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 21 12:22 am)

Subject: Looking for suggestions for getting rid of that "plastic" look.

whoopdat ( ) posted Thu, 14 December 2000 at 2:05 AM ยท edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 10:22 PM

Howdy, as noted in another thread, I'm pretty new to all of this stuff. I like to think I've come a pretty decent way thus far, but I'm wondering what some of you do to get rid of the damn plastic look. It doesn't happen all of the time, but sometimes it seems unavoidable. I tend to like the look of the "infinite" lights over the "spot" lights, though not always. However, the infinite lights seem to give the plastic look often. So what's the best way of getting around it? Minor angle adjustments with the cameras? Changing the intensity of the lights? Color? Editing the texture(s)? Any suggestions would be much appreciated. :)

whoopdat ( ) posted Thu, 14 December 2000 at 2:25 AM

Forgot to say that I'm not looking for something that'll make everything look "real," but rather just want to reduce the plasticity (or would that be plasticness?) of the images without having to do a ton of post work. Some is fine, but not a ton (for both post work and plastic).

Staale ( ) posted Thu, 14 December 2000 at 7:32 AM

The plastic look is usually from the highlight setting and color, you'll find them in the menu where you load textures. The different model parts have individual colors and setting. You can do a lot of nice efx if you learn how to use highlight control. Staale

smallspace ( ) posted Thu, 14 December 2000 at 11:04 AM