Sat, Sep 21, 7:19 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: Using masks in Photoshop 6

Batsarse ( ) posted Wed, 01 December 2004 at 3:42 PM · edited Sat, 10 August 2024 at 6:59 AM

Anybody here familiar with Photoshop 6? I have a particular problem that I need help with - namely the use of masks. I've never used them before but the situation I'm in is this: I have a .jpg of a complicated Bryce 5 model that I built a while back that I want to place on top of a starfield that I made using the Universe Image Creator package. Currently both images are separate - I want to join 'em so that the model sits on the starfield. The model has lots of holes and gaps in it through which the starfield will be visible. I could do this by clone-stamping the model, but it's big and the clone-stamp is a clumsy tool for a job like this. Alternatively, I could use the magnetic lasso to cut out the model, then invert it and apply the background eraser until I'm left with just the model, but I've used the background eraser before and it has a tendency to miss bits out unless I go over every single pixel. Plus it's time-consuming as hell and difficult to save and recover where I left off - I'd have to do the job in one sitting and get it right first time, which isn't satisfying and leads to a rush job. Which leaves me with masks. If someone could explain exactly what a mask does and how best to apply them to this situation I'll be grateful. Hell, I'll even credit them when I post the finished picture (if I remember!) Cheers.

draculaz ( ) posted Wed, 01 December 2004 at 3:48 PM · edited Wed, 01 December 2004 at 3:50 PM