Sun, Sep 22, 4:41 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Grubby dirty artifacts, how do I clear these up

Smallworld ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 5:53 AM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 2:41 AM

file_154682.jpg

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to Carrara so I hope there is a simple solution to this that I'm just not finding. I am using the new C4pro, although I had the same problem with C3. When I render using Global Illumination, I seem to get lots of grubby dirty looking artifacts. This really is quite annoying. I have played around with most render settings and havn't managed to cure it. Is this an inherant bug of am I just missing something? Any help would be most appreciated.. This pic shows what I mean.

Brian

Fortitudine Vincimus - "by endurance we conquer."

Smallworld ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 5:56 AM

file_154683.jpg

Here is a pic of an actual work project for a client. The solid red white blue triangles are particularly poor. The sign on the top also has a couple of grubs on it. I have use the default HDRI trumpet scen as a base.

Brian

TOXE ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 7:12 AM

Have you tried to increase interpolation value or to turn it off? Also, you can increase the photon count to have a better result. -TOXE

FWTempest ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 7:33 AM

agreed... also increase the lighting quality to 'excellent' or 'best' and you might have to reduce the accuracy down as low as 1 pixel in order to get the results you want.

MarkBremmer ( ) posted Fri, 10 December 2004 at 8:38 AM

Using the "Improved Edges" option will significantly help this. Engaging that option sometimes has better results than just the iterpolation or photon solutions.