Tue, Oct 22, 10:43 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 22 10:35 am)

Subject: Transparent glass?

Acadia ( ) posted Thu, 23 June 2005 at 12:42 AM ยท edited Tue, 22 October 2024 at 10:38 AM

file_258959.jpg

Is it possible to make glass look like "glass"? Shiney, transparent... I am rendering SAMS3D's hour glass, and the glass comes out looking nearly opaque each time and the sand isn't very visible. This image is: Ray tracing off. I tried it "On" and it made no difference. Cast Shadows = off Smooth Polygons = off I have tried all kinds of lights. This was done with Complex Global Lighting. I forget which "lights", but this is the best I've been able to achieve. I'm not good with lights, so if you have some tips, can you give details too please?

"It is good to see ourselves as others see us. Try as we may, we are never
able to know ourselves fully as we are, especially the evil side of us.
This we can do only if we are not angry with our critics but will take in good
heart whatever they might have to say." - Ghandi

TrekkieGrrrl ( ) posted Thu, 23 June 2005 at 2:51 AM

First I'd set Raytracing and cast shadows to on. Do you use reflection/refraction? - I'd advise you to download Ajax' shaderpack, I believe it's still here in free stuff, it has some very nice glass-settings :o) - just remember to change the background and reflection colours to match your actual background (I think they're set to magenta in the material so that they're easier to spot)

FREEBIES! | My Gallery | My Store | My FB | Tumblr |
You justย can'tย put the words "Poserites" and "happy" in the same sentence - didn't you know that? LaurieA
ย  Using Poser since 2002. Currently at Version 11.1 - Win 10.

Acadia ( ) posted Thu, 23 June 2005 at 2:58 AM

Quote - Do you use reflection/refraction?