Tue, Oct 22, 10:29 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 22 10:16 am)

Subject: Shadow rendering over a background pic in P6

fruit ( ) posted Sun, 16 October 2005 at 12:00 PM · edited Tue, 22 October 2024 at 8:35 AM

Anyone know how to go shadow catching, getting figure shadows to render over a background picture in P6? Thanks. K.B.

Lully ( ) posted Sun, 16 October 2005 at 12:18 PM

Don't know as Im only a newbie, :o)
BUT have you tried using a square plane from your primatives and applying the background image to that and positioning it just where you want it, as it's an object it should accept the shadows
...i find that better than using the background for floor as sometimes things arent where you want them to be

Tools:- Win10, Dell XPS8900, ZBrush, Marvelous Designer 11, Hex 2, PSP8. PSP 2019 Ultimate, DAZ Studio, Affinity Photo, Affinity Designer, Filterforge 11, flowscape,  Classic UVMapper, and several headache tablets. 

destro75 ( ) posted Sun, 16 October 2005 at 12:25 PM

Attached Link: http://www.renderosity.com/viewed.ez?galleryid=1065775&Start=1&Artist=destro75&ByArtist=Yes

Yes, Lully has the best suggestion. Use a one sided square primitive, size it to fill the background, then apply the image you want to use to it. Then you will get the shadow effect on it. That's the method I used at the attached link. I don't usually like to post my gallery submissions, since it inflates traffic unfairly, but I think it appropriate here, so you can see the benefit of this method. Hope this helps!

Dave8 ( ) posted Sun, 16 October 2005 at 12:40 PM

or just load the prop and import your pic then turn on shadow catching in the material room for the prop and hit render

TrekkieGrrrl ( ) posted Sun, 16 October 2005 at 2:41 PM