Tue, Oct 22, 10:14 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 22 9:37 am)

Subject: Making Poser Models

Circumvent ( ) posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 8:25 PM · edited Tue, 22 October 2024 at 10:06 AM

If I wanted to make my own human models, what programs do I need to have.  I want to make a model from A to Z including the morphs and everything.  I want to learn, however I don't know what programs to use.  I know there are different ones but what would be good for a beginner.  TIA.
Adrian

pakled ( ) posted Sun, 30 April 2006 at 9:03 PM

Attached Link: http://www.wings3d.com

..all while standing on one foot..;)  to quote Apollo 13  "You're worried about step 738..we're working on steps 2 and 3..;)"

Making a humanoid character is one of the hardest things to do. I've been modeling for about 4 years, and I'm nowhere near good enough (but that's my problem..;)

There's thousands of modeling programs out there, but many of them are made in Lightwave, Maya, and Rhino..all of which are more expensive than Poser.

However, just because it's hard, doesn't mean it's impossible. You can make models that can do what you want, but it's a few steps in there to do.

1st- find Dr. Geep's tutorials. He's made a few good ones that explain making models, from Poser props to final figure.  Everyone has their own sort of work flow, but the steps (as I've heard) would be create the model, make textures (UVMapping),'bone it', and try it out.

2nd- try some 3d modelers, cheap or free. Silo is about a hundred or so; Wings 3d and Blender are free (Quinlor has a Wings 3d tutorial that tells you how to create a character. Other people have used Metasequoia, Anim8tor, Truespace(older versions) the list goes on and on.