Wed, Sep 18, 6:58 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 17 9:46 am)

Subject: Please explain Matchmover uses and limits

joemccarron ( ) posted Thu, 30 November 2006 at 8:45 AM · edited Mon, 22 July 2024 at 10:26 PM

I am relatively new to 3d and have only spent some time making Animations in poser.  I have absolutely no experience or knowledge in modeling.   That said I am wondering what Matchmover can do.  Specifically:

1)Can matchmover easilly create 3d high resolution models of anything I can video tape? 
1a)If so why would someone want to model there own  realistic models anymore?  
1b)If not what are the limits?

2)Can I apply the textures of matmover models to other models?

3)I noticed that when the video is shot it usually goes about a 90 degree angle.  Will it work if you go all the way around an object?

Any information or thoughts on the forseeable uses and limits of this software would be greatly appreciated.

CobraEye ( ) posted Thu, 30 November 2006 at 9:20 AM · edited Thu, 30 November 2006 at 9:22 AM

My biggest problem with matchmover is that once the movie is in, vue can not make the shadows for the 3d objects so as to blend the 3d objects with the video.  Of course this can be done in compositing programs, but it should be done in the 3d program.

Max, Maya, & Lightwave all have Matte Shadows so this can easily be achieved.

Vue does not.

As far as I know, a matte shadow is an invisible object that can still receive shadows.  Even though vue has all these choices for receive shadows & cast shadows it still can not do this.

If you wach the demo matchmover on the e-on site, there will be a shadow from the 3d object.  From what I know, this shadow was done separately in vue, and was put together in a composite program like After Effects.

However, matte shadows could easily be implemented in vue if the programmers decided it was necessary.