Tue, Sep 24, 7:24 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 24 6:31 am)

Subject: I want to get my CPU up, advices?

vincebagna ( ) posted Sat, 31 March 2007 at 10:19 AM · edited Tue, 24 September 2024 at 7:24 AM

I want to upgrade it. I mean, a new video card, and probably memory. But take care, i'm a noob :p

In addition, if someone could "translate" my computer caracteristics for me, i don't really know what i have, and what i have to go to. Here is what my CPU is made of:

AMD Sempron 3000+
2.00 GHz, 448 Mo of RAM

Does it mean my actual memory is about 448Mo? I guess i need much more ;p
And what about video card, i've been told the NVidia 7300 series would be the minimum to get.

My Store

Victoria_Lee ( ) posted Sat, 31 March 2007 at 10:28 AM

You'll need at least 2 Mb of RAM, preferrably DDR2 and I would go with the nVidia GeForce 7800 series with at least 512 Mb of Video ram if your MB will take a PCI Express card.  From the looks of your AMD MB you might need to upgrade that, as well.

Hugz from Phoenix, USA

Victoria

Remember, sometimes the dragon wins. Correction: MOST times.

svdl ( ) posted Sat, 31 March 2007 at 10:31 AM

Your actual memory is 512 MB, but 64 MB is used by the onboard graphics chip.

The Sempron 3000+ is about the fastest CPU that fits in your mainboard. No use upgrading the CPU.
Add another bank of 512 MB memory, maybe even 1 GB, and add a decent nVidia graphics card. A 7300 is fairly OK, a 7600GT is better, and not overly expensive.

Your PC will not be the fastest on the block, but the upgrades we're talking about here are not very expensive (512 MB should be around € 50. a 7600 GT around € 100), and it will definitely improve the general performance of the machine.