Tue, Sep 24, 3:38 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 24 2:15 pm)

Subject: General 3d Question

drkfetyshnyghts ( ) posted Fri, 06 April 2007 at 4:31 AM · edited Tue, 24 September 2024 at 3:37 PM

I am totally new to 3d so please excuse my ignorance.
Is it possible to take a picture of an object.. say for instance.. a car... load that into a 3D programme to turn it into a 3D object for rendering, altering etc?  If so, which 3d programes do i need to be looking at?  Maybe Cheetah for Mac?

Any direction would be good
Stefi xxx

Gongyla ( ) posted Fri, 06 April 2007 at 5:52 AM · edited Fri, 06 April 2007 at 5:53 AM

There are special 3D scanners that can scan real life (3D  ) objects, but these are extremely expensive, and used in the creation of movies like Lord of the Rings.
3D applications are different. You can create objects (or buy them, like for Poser) with the help of meshes, a mesh being a number of points in 3D space (your monitor plus imaginary depth) that are corner points of triangles, quadrangles or even n-gons (more angles). These you can "rig", meaning that you can, for example, make an arm move, animate, add textures and render. Rendering means creating a still, pixel-based image of your mesh. A sequence of these images can become an animation.

So in short: no, you cannot scan a picture of a car to become a 3D object, but if you have the application and the money, you can buy 3D cars that you can pose and render.

drkfetyshnyghts ( ) posted Fri, 06 April 2007 at 6:49 AM

Mmmm thank you Gongyla... i guess the only question left o ask is.. which is the best 3d app for projects like cars.  Not neccsarily interested in animation.

Anyone know anything about Cheetah for the Mac?  Or do i have to go high-end?

Gongyla ( ) posted Fri, 06 April 2007 at 7:01 AM