Sun, Oct 6, 10:29 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 05 8:40 pm)

Subject: Question for members of the Critique Group.

Greywolf Starkiller ( ) posted Sun, 08 April 2007 at 12:38 PM · edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 5:19 PM

Heh, I'm trying something I have never done before, and now that I'm trying to do a head & 
shoulders portrait of one of my Shadow Hounds, I have more respect for portrait creators.
The lighting is different and MUCH harder to get right than that of a full blown action scene.

I need a bit of help to get started, especially as the character in question is rather unusual.
Her skin is VERY pale, almost white. What kind of lighting does one use to show skin like
that best? Pinups and portraiture are not my prefered styles, though I do have a few pinups
in my gallery, including one of the character I'm trying the portrait for. Has anyone any
suggestions on just how to get started?

Greywolf

Victoria_Lee ( ) posted Sun, 08 April 2007 at 1:53 PM

I would start with a pale blue spotlight as that will not change the color of the figure but will not cause a glare, either.  

Portraits are difficult to light but using at least one spotlight will get you going.  Once you have the lights right, don't forget to save them so that you'll have them again when you need them.

Hugz from Phoenix, USA

Victoria

Remember, sometimes the dragon wins. Correction: MOST times.

Greywolf Starkiller ( ) posted Sun, 08 April 2007 at 3:00 PM

Thank you, Victoria_Lee. I just learned something else In a tut on DAZ. Subsurface 
scattering has an amazing effect on skin textures. It was one feature I never tried, and
it was most impressive. Pale blue hmmm. That'll give me a starting point. I always got
the lighting wrong on her, in every scene I did with her, her skin looks dead white. I want to