Sat, Oct 5, 8:15 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: Can this be done in Bryce?

max- ( ) posted Sat, 04 August 2007 at 3:30 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 7:16 AM

In Bryce, has anyone ever tried to link a wheel to a piston, then the piston to a second wheel so that when the first wheel turns, the piston and the second wheel also turn? Can it even be done?

"An Example is worth Ten Thousand Words"

pakled ( ) posted Sat, 04 August 2007 at 8:58 PM

I suppose. Bryce does animation. You'd just have to set the motions of each object so they look like they're in sync. I'm no expert on animation, but it shouldn't be impossible.

I wish I'd said that.. The Staircase Wit

anahl nathrak uth vas betude doth yel dyenvey..;)

Angel_Natavi ( ) posted Sat, 04 August 2007 at 10:27 PM

I believe what he is talking about, is in the basic screen, with the mesh.  I do not believe it works that way.  If you linked them to a smaller control, just out of sight, and rotated that, it wouldn't work, for they would all rotate the same amount as the parent object.

In order to go forward, one must often times look to the past.

TheBryster ( ) posted Sun, 05 August 2007 at 6:23 AM · edited Sun, 05 August 2007 at 6:24 AM
Forum Moderator

I think it can, but it takes something to get your head around it.  Here is a grab from a trial I made while working on the Flying Scotsman loco. I got as far as getting the red beam to move with two of the wheels, but time caught up with me.....

Available on Amazon for the Kindle E-Reader

All the Woes of a World by Jonathan Icknield aka The Bryster

And in my final hours - I would cling rather to the tattooed hand of kindness - than the unblemished hand of hate...