Thu, Sep 19, 3:56 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: making props

rbowen ( ) posted Sat, 08 December 2007 at 4:47 AM · edited Thu, 19 September 2024 at 9:47 AM

I am new to all this, so I need some help, please.  I am trying to make some prop files, so I start in Carrara 3D Basics, export as *.3ds, import into Poser 5, export as *.obj, import into UVMapper, export as *.obj, and import into Poser to add textures.  I would like to save my work as a *.pp2 file in my Poser libraries.  How do I do this?  I have tried going through the help section of Poser to figure it out, but no luck so far.  Maybe there is an easier way to make props, but, for a start, I would like to know how I can make a *.pp2 file in Poser 5.

ialora ( ) posted Sat, 08 December 2007 at 5:04 AM

ppz or pp2?  Because Poser5's props are ppz files.  Poser7 saves props as pp2.  I don't recall if Poser6 could save as pp2 or not. 

Irene-

rbowen ( ) posted Sat, 08 December 2007 at 5:23 AM

Thank you for your reply.

ppz would be fine, but I would like to be able to save as pp2, also, as DAZStudio uses the pp2.

Tashar59 ( ) posted Sat, 08 December 2007 at 7:34 AM

P5/6/7 all have file compression. Pzz , Pz2 and so on.

To turn it off in P7, will be simular in P5/6 I don't have them installed right now to check.

Edit > General Preferences > Misc  and uncheck Use file compression.

rbowen ( ) posted Sat, 08 December 2007 at 11:21 AM

Thank you for your help.

The textures came through in Poser, when I loaded the props, but they did not come through in DAZ Studio. Is there any way that I can have the textures come along with the pp2's when I put the pp2's in DAZ Studio, or do I have to load new textures after loading my props there?