Sun, Sep 15, 11:55 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 14 4:17 pm)

Subject: python help needed. I want to remove reflections on materials

FalseBogus ( ) posted Tue, 27 October 2009 at 1:33 PM · edited Thu, 12 September 2024 at 8:10 PM

Hi

I'm a newbie in python. I've been looking at the some scripts and been trying to figure out
how to make  a script that edits all materials and sets global reflection to 0%

I've got the part that goes thru all materials, but can't figure out how to set the reflect.

VUEMaterial Class hasn't got function like SetBumpDepth for bumps for amount of reflections.

I just can't figure out if or how it's doable.

Anyone? ;)

It's the poser imports with their weird reflection settings..this time I have about 170 materials to manually edit if I can't figure out how to automate it.

dburdick ( ) posted Tue, 27 October 2009 at 1:42 PM

You can just do a global edit of all materials in Vue and set the reflection value to 0%

• in the world browser, select the materials
  • click the little edit materials icon on the bottom (looks like a little soccer ball)
  • this will bring up a single material editor window incidicated the number of materials selected
  • On the reflection tab, set the value to 0% and click ok

This will change the reflection value to 100% for all selected materials

FalseBogus ( ) posted Tue, 27 October 2009 at 1:45 PM

Now I feel stupid....

FrankT ( ) posted Tue, 27 October 2009 at 2:40 PM

Also, there's a python script floating around which will remove all the reflections from a poser scene.  I think it's in the scripting forum - look around in the archives for a thread started by me about it

My Freebies
Buy stuff on RedBubble

FalseBogus ( ) posted Tue, 27 October 2009 at 3:23 PM

Cheers, I will.

Even though I missed the most obvious resolution to my problem I'm still pondering how it would be done with a script.