Sat, Sep 21, 2:36 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 21 12:48 pm)

Subject: For seasoned Poser-Folks: V4 vs. V3...?

lookoo ( ) posted Mon, 11 January 2010 at 12:37 PM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 12:50 PM

Attached Link: example of my kind of V3

I have been using DAZ Victoria figures since 2001, all the way from V1, through V2 to V3. I have always created very specific characters, made my very own clothes for them, have given them names in their native languages and have grown quite personally attached over the years to some of them (if you can says that about a lump of one and zeroes after all LOL).

With V4 being out now already for 2 or three years, I still haven't undergone all the hazzle of migrating once again from one character platform to another. As for joints, I use some shoulder injection morphs to fix V3's shoulders - a thing which I would have to do as well if I was to use V4.

Now I am starting with a larger animation project. I will have to create dynamic clothing from scratch, so I am almost back to zero as far as equipping characters goes. It is now that I am asking myself if moving on to V4 is actually really worth it. I would like to hear from some folks who have worked extensively with V3 as well if this would really be worth it in terms of realism and workflow. Could my character renders really look substantially better with V4? What do you think?

Thanks for your opinions in advance!

pjz99 ( ) posted Mon, 11 January 2010 at 12:53 PM