Tue, Oct 1, 11:24 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 01 3:49 pm)

Subject: importing files to Poser 8

Artchitect ( ) posted Tue, 31 May 2011 at 8:09 PM · edited Tue, 01 October 2024 at 11:19 PM

hello, i'm new here and im kind of new to the Poser software and the animation stuff.  and i have plenty of questions...

so how exactly do i import stuff to the program?

what kinds of objects or character can i import?

which types of files are which?

how do i import any kind of picture into poser(not as a background) and just animate it as if it were 3d???

if i do import a character or an object into poser, can i animate it in the same way i animate other characters and objects that come with the software?

bagginsbill ( ) posted Tue, 31 May 2011 at 8:35 PM

I think you want Anime Studio Pro, not Poser.

Renderosity forum reply notifications are wonky. If I read a follow-up in a thread, but I don't myself reply, then notifications no longer happen AT ALL on that thread. So if I seem to be ignoring a question, that's why. (Updated September 23, 2019)

markschum ( ) posted Tue, 31 May 2011 at 8:40 PM

Sorry to be short, but * Read the Manual * There is one off the Help menu , or the pdf file is in the poser folder.

Poser content loads to the runtime libraries by either extracting a zip file or running a program installer.  You can import obj and a few other formats by using the File menu at the top.

You can either load a picture as a background image or load it to a prop through the material room. It wont be 3d though.

An obj file imported into poser becomes a static prop. (no moving parts)  You can create figures but thats a bit more complicated.