Wed, Sep 18, 2:11 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 18 7:39 am)

Subject: (Off Topic) Anyone want to help decipher HR326 Stop Online Piracy Bill

LadyElf ( ) posted Sun, 06 November 2011 at 2:48 PM · edited Sat, 17 August 2024 at 12:49 PM

Reading through this and it's like walking through sludge......anyone else seen this?  Any thoughts about what this is going to effect ?

This is a sincere effort to try to understand this bill and not to start up any type of political BS or debate.  Trying to understand it to see if this will in fact help us as artists and merchants.

http://www.publicknowledge.org/files/The_Stop_Online_Piracy_Act_HR-3261_10-26-11.pdf

bantha ( ) posted Sun, 06 November 2011 at 3:30 PM · edited Sun, 06 November 2011 at 3:59 PM

I am not a lawyer, but from what I've understood, this act tries to implement DNS filters for warez sites. But I may have missed central points. 

A ship in port is safe; but that is not what ships are built for.
Sail out to sea and do new things.
-"Amazing Grace" Hopper

Avatar image of me done by Chidori

JenX ( ) posted Sun, 06 November 2011 at 4:06 PM

Attached Link: http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/bdquery/z?d108:HR03261:@@@D&summ2=m&

This is, for all intents and purposes, a summary.  Basically, this would have nothing to do with artists or anyone in this community, unless they are gathering and selling databases of information collated or created by another person.  This doesn't have much to do with copyright, IMHO.  Even in what I read, there was almost NOTHING to do with the copyright of artistic works, unless it's hidden in the legalese.  

YMMV, IANAL.

Sitemail | Freestuff | Craftythings | Youtube|

Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it into a fruit salad.

LaurieA ( ) posted Sun, 06 November 2011 at 4:26 PM