Sun, Oct 6, 3:35 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 05 8:40 pm)

Subject: Best jpg saving option for textures?

pitklad ( ) posted Tue, 06 November 2012 at 3:51 AM · edited Mon, 09 September 2024 at 10:45 PM

I use photoshop "save for web" at at 85-87 to convert my .psd file to .jpg

is this better than tha default saver with the 1-12 quality option?

also is there any other plug in saver for .jpg that works better?

My FreeStuff

Prof_Null ( ) posted Tue, 06 November 2012 at 4:03 AM · edited Tue, 06 November 2012 at 4:05 AM

For textures I would have thought you would want to use .png or .tif - something less messy - but hey, I'm no expert, maybe jpeg 10 or 12 is just as good ?

Then again I don't like to lose any quality anywhere, now that drive space is cheap and computers are fast. The only reason I would use jpeg would be for a web image on a site or page where you MUST limit your file size. Last time I checked JPEG was "lossy" - that means if you keep opening and saving a jpeg, it degrades, to simplify.

obm890 ( ) posted Tue, 06 November 2012 at 5:07 AM

Quote - I use photoshop "save for web" at at 85-87 to convert my .psd file to .jpg

is this better than tha default saver with the 1-12 quality option?

also is there any other plug in saver for .jpg that works better?

I read somewhere on the web that 'save for web' gives better results than the standard PS 'save as jpg' because it uses a completely different (and more sophisticated) compression process. I don't know how true it is, and I don't think I've ever been able to see a difference, but I use 'save for web' anyway.

I find Irfanview (the free image viewer) seems to have pretty amazing jpg compression, it'll open a PSD file and save it as a JPG (at, say, 95% quality) smaller than photoshop save for web (at 85% quality) can do but with no visible compression artifacts.