Mon, Oct 21, 4:59 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 21 4:13 pm)

Subject: Poser Install Directory

ribroast ( ) posted Sun, 22 September 2019 at 12:11 AM · edited Fri, 18 October 2024 at 8:53 AM

I'm ready to do the update, ran the 11.2 installer that I JUST downloaded (so it should be the latest) but I don't seem to be able to set the install directory. I personally don't install Poser in the Program Files directory since I mess around in there a lot and even though I'm a administrator, there can be issues. My "C" drive is a SSD and I install many of my programs on my large "D" drive, would this not be possible with Poser anymore? Just wondering, I actually do install Poser on the SSD in C:PoserVersion#. I use Poser a lot so it warrants space on the SSD, but I would prefer to not put it in "Program Files". I did see that I could put the default Runtime on the "D" drive, so that is good. Most of my content is on my server so I can access it from multiple machines. As for the new content, that's great, but I already have most of it anyways. Not knocking it though, it's good for new users and makes the brand stronger. So I aborted the install because I want to know where it intends to put itself. Anyways, excited about Poser's new home.

MarianneR ( ) posted Sun, 22 September 2019 at 12:58 AM

My old installation of Poser was at C:/Poser/Poser 11. Just like you I tried to set the installation path as I don't want Poser in "Program Files". Well, there wasn't any chance to change the path during the installation so I went ahead and installed anyway. Turns out that Poser 11.2 installed on top of Poser 11.1, in the same folder and seems to work fine. I chose to keep preferences during installation and all my old runtimes are in the library, just like in 11.1.

ribroast ( ) posted Sun, 22 September 2019 at 1:31 AM