Mon, Jul 8, 12:43 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Jul 08 12:05 pm)

Subject: Hosiery seams on LF, Dawn, V4.

VedaDalsette ( ) posted Sun, 03 March 2024 at 6:32 PM · edited Mon, 08 July 2024 at 11:06 AM

I can never seem to properly draw hosiery seams on skin textures for La Femme, Dawn, or V4. I like to have them for characters from the 30s, 40s, and 50s. Do any exist? Templates maybe? A technique to use? Thanks.

W11,Intel i9-14900KF @ 3.20GHz, 64.0 GB RAM, 64-bit, GeForce GTX 4070 Ti SUPER, 16GB. 

Old lady hobbyist.

All visual art or fiction is "playing with dolls."

GGreen ( ) posted Sun, 03 March 2024 at 7:48 PM
VedaDalsette ( ) posted Mon, 04 March 2024 at 7:19 AM

Thanks. I could never find stockings with seams. I have no experience with the Genesis characters. Your last link will work for V4, but it looks like first I have to buy http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/highfashion-essentials-superhose-for-v4-a4-g4/72784. A review for that one says it has seams but they're down the side of the leg, not down the back. Of course, I'd feel better spending $18 on a full body texture with seams than two stocking textures, most of which I'll never use.

W11,Intel i9-14900KF @ 3.20GHz, 64.0 GB RAM, 64-bit, GeForce GTX 4070 Ti SUPER, 16GB. 

Old lady hobbyist.

primorge ( ) posted Mon, 04 March 2024 at 8:25 AM · edited Mon, 04 March 2024 at 8:25 AM

If you'd prefer the "roll your own" route, this is an example of something that's ridiculously easy in a software with 3d painting capabilities. It's a lot easier because it's what you see is what you get.

I use Mudbox for this kind of thing. It's UDIM by default so it handles LF, and I'm assuming Dawn. V4 requires a bit more prep due to the stacked UVs.