Fri, Sep 20, 11:37 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 6:55 am)

Subject: Off with her toes! (A cry for help!)

fantombe ( ) posted Fri, 08 March 2002 at 9:25 AM ยท edited Thu, 01 August 2024 at 7:19 PM

Hi all

I've recently bought Poser along with Michael and Vicki, so consider me a newbie! My background is in Lightwave, and I hope to mix the two packages somehow. Which brings me to my question...

In the Poser manual, there's a bit about customising figure meshes, but as I'm sure you know, the manuals detail on most subjects is limited to a couple of paragraphs.

What I want to do is chop of Vickies toes (brutal, I know!) and replace them with a rounded foot, so instead of building and conforming the right type of boot, I can do it the old fashioned(!) way as part of the texture/bump map.

Now, I get the impression it's possible to export the foot into lightwave, remodel it, then import the new model back into Poser. First of all, is this actually possible? Or am I barking up the wrong tree?

You'll have to excuse any ignorance on my part - like I said, Newbie!

Does anyone know of any decent tutorials on the right way to do this kind of thing? I'm basically not 100% sure of how Poser handles these things rather than the lightwave end.

For example, would I need to export Vickies entire mesh to lightwave, or just the limb in question? If i do export anything, will the 'skeleton' stay intact throughout the whole process, or will she end up as a lifeless mesh when back in Poser?

Until I get used to it, it's little things like this that I don't understand.

I hope some of that made sense! If anyone has even the tinyest bit of info that might help me, or can point me in the direction of a tutorial of somekind, I'd appreciate it!

Crescent ( ) posted Fri, 08 March 2002 at 9:39 AM