Mon, Oct 7, 2:23 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: simple 360 degree rotation???

kmatrix ( ) posted Mon, 08 April 2002 at 6:17 PM · edited Mon, 07 October 2024 at 12:25 AM

hey people,
I am a veteran bryce user, newbie bryce animator.
OK all I want to do is rotate an object 360 degrees over 4 seconds (around the Y axis). This is what I do, but doesn't work:

--at zero seconds, i set all rotation attributes of the object to zero
--scrub to 4 seconds
--set the Y axis rotation of the object to 360

now when i preview it, it should work right? nope! it just sits there and does nothing because the 360 I put in at 4 seconds gets reset to zero. HELP. all i wanna do is rotate an object 360 degrees, why is this so difficult.
Thanks in advance,
-- bz

Aldaron ( ) posted Mon, 08 April 2002 at 6:28 PM

Try doing it in quarter turns. With 360 the computer is seeing that the rotation really hasn't changed( it doesn't track your rotation, it simply takes sarting point and ending point). So set a key frame every second for the above animation rotating 90 degrees at a time.

Aldaron ( ) posted Mon, 08 April 2002 at 7:05 PM

Ok I just tried it with only 2 keyframes, 1 at 2 seconds 180 degree rotaion and 1 at 4 second to complete the circle and it worked. I'd be careful with just 2 keyframes though, I've heard of people having problems with it rotating wrong. To be safe and reduce keyframes you could use 3 and rotate it by thirds.

johnpenn ( ) posted Tue, 09 April 2002 at 1:58 PM