Fri, Sep 20, 7:01 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: increasing resolution in flat/straight objects w/out smoothing ?

roedertin ( ) posted Mon, 29 July 2002 at 2:25 PM · edited Thu, 01 August 2024 at 11:57 AM

dear all,
probably it's like a very boring question to most of you, but I'm new at C2 and I just can't get one thing figured out : How do I create a flat object that's supposed to render with straight, sharp edges, like a wall with a window in it for example, with a high resolution but no smoothing effect ?! I've used the subdivide command and it increases poly count alright, but it makes my wall look like a soft pillow or something. please please anybody ???!! this is so frustrating !

Patrick_210 ( ) posted Mon, 29 July 2002 at 5:37 PM

Flatten out a cube, rotate for a wall - boolean another for a simple window.

ashley3d ( ) posted Mon, 29 July 2002 at 6:07 PM

Welcome roedertin to the forum. It is great having you here. Also there are no "boring" questions. We've all been there before...the newbee thinking his questions is to simple to post to the forum. "Pssst...keep this just between us. Some people around here have mental issues." "Wink" "wink"

litst ( ) posted Mon, 29 July 2002 at 6:23 PM

I really don't know what Ashley's talking about ... Roerdetin, if the angles of your models don't appear sharp but smooth instead, you must crease the edges . In the vertex modeller, you can crease the selected edges from the selection menu . Or you can use the Crease tool (C key) and click on the edges you want to crease . Note that if you hold alt, the Crease tool with smooth edges . Last thing, you can't have creased edges when you use subdivision surfaces . I hope it helps, litst