Thu, Sep 19, 9:37 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Bryce

Welcome to the Bryce Forum

Forum Moderators: TheBryster

Bryce F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 28 6:28 pm)

[Gallery]     [Tutorials]

THE PLACE FOR ALL THINGS BRYCE - GOT A PROBLEM? YOU'VE COME TO THE RIGHT PLACE

Subject: Yes I'm new, and yes I want feedback. Sorry! ;o)

Wivelrod ( ) posted Mon, 18 November 2002 at 7:39 AM · edited Thu, 01 August 2024 at 11:13 PM

Attached Link: http://www.renderosity.com/viewed.ez?galleryid=279328&Start=1&Sectionid=2&WhatsNew=Yes&Form.sess_id

file_32048.jpg

Hi all, I'm new to Bryce (and 3D rendering as a whole really!), and I would really appreciate some feedback. Mostly because one of the skills I need to learn and master is being able to spot whats good and whats bad in my renders, and a good way of doing that is to learn via feedback.

The image I've posted here is something I'm using to learn Bryce. I'm taking it slowly, and one step at a time. If you follow the URL, you'll see my first version that some of you may have seen in my gallery.

So anyway, what I really to know is whether you think I've achieved a more interesting landscape?

One of the difficulties I've had is making the Red/Orange sun bright enough to match its actual light source. I've used a volumetric flat shaded sphere (as per the tutorial at: http://www.brycetech.com/tutor/bryce/multiplesuns1.html). Unfortunately I've just not been able to colour or brightness match its material against its light source properties. In this image I've added a haloing effect with PSP to attempt to make the sun look brighter. Has this worked?

Thanks in advance for any advice you care to administer :o)

ttops ( ) posted Mon, 18 November 2002 at 8:36 AM

Yep halo effect has definitely worked. I really like the crackling texture on the hills. It seems to give it a wood like quality.

tuttle ( ) posted Mon, 18 November 2002 at 11:06 AM