Sat, Sep 21, 11:38 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Carrara

Welcome to the Carrara Forum

Forum Coordinators: Kalypso

Carrara F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 07 1:44 am)

Visit the Carrara Gallery here.

Carrara Free Stuff here.

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace - Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Is it Carrara or Raydream what I need ?

mussert ( ) posted Sun, 16 April 2000 at 3:30 PM · edited Sat, 21 September 2024 at 11:31 PM

Attached Link: Is it Carrara or Raydream what I need ?

I am new to 3D designing and therefore I would like to ask you, the experts, what is best to do. I bought Poser 4 and Bryce 4 a week ago (what a timing with all these take-overs), if I want to make models/props myself should I either take Raydream or Carrara ? I am especially interested in which program has the best import/export-utilities for Bryce and Poser.

keithw ( ) posted Sun, 16 April 2000 at 4:34 PM

If I were you I would buy Carrara. After MetaCreations completes the sale of Carrara to Adobe RayDream will be an orphan with out any manufacturers support or any upgrade path. Also Carrara renderer is fantastic.

ClintH ( ) posted Sun, 16 April 2000 at 5:44 PM

Go with Carrara as Keithw said. Same reasons Keith pointed out. Nice web site. I like the We the Gods link ;) Clint

Clint Hawkins
MarketPlace Manager/Copyright Agent

All my life I've been over the top ... I don't know what I'm doing ... All I know is I don't wana stop!
(Zakk Wylde (2007))

Spanfarkle ( ) posted Sun, 16 April 2000 at 6:57 PM

Ditto, Carrera.

willf ( ) posted Sun, 16 April 2000 at 11:27 PM

Carrara has a faster render engine and better shaders. It is faster to "get up & running" with it then RDS (less features/options/user control = easier). The big advantage is Adobe and their proven commimtment to the graphics arts community.

arcady ( ) posted Mon, 17 April 2000 at 2:49 PM